On Readathons and Reading Challenges

Ah, Readathons and reading challenges. I’ve seen plenty of them around even before I started this blog; people are doing them on BookTube and I occasionally stumble upon them on GoodReads. A friend/co-worker of mine loves doing them as well, and yes, the themes are quite fun and interesting, varying from Pokémon to a reading challenge dedicated to diversity. Posts by Nerd in New York and Drizzle Hurricane Books inspired me to write my own opinion about Readathons.

But, before we get started: what’s a Readathon or a Reading Challenge? Well, basically, it’s a challenge to encourage you to read as many books as possible. During a Readathon, you usually do so in a certain amount of time. There’s also a Bingo or a list format that earns you a mark/list-filler whenever you read something that suits the topic. Sometimes, these challenges have a theme, which can vary from reading books about LGBT to reading books with blue covers.

There are pros and cons to reading challenges. The obvious pro is: you’re likely to get more reading done! The competitive spirit motivates you to read more books, which is a good way to get through that endless TBR pile. It also allows you to connect with people who also participate in the challenge, as you’re probably reading the same kind of books which encourages discussion and exchanging recommendations. Finally, a challenge can make you read books you wouldn’t have picked up otherwise, which can not only broaden your horizon and let you step out of your comfort zone, but also lead to unexpected favourites.

So yes, I can obviously see the merit in doing a reading challenge or Readathon. It’s a fun way to get through your TBR pile!

Still, I don’t do them.

Okay, there’s one exception, and that’s the annual reading challenge on GoodReads. I pick a number of books I want to read that year, and I try to read that amount of books. However, that still allows me to select whatever book I want to read, and I tend to pick a number that I know is realistic for me.

And that brings me to the reason behind me not doing any other reading challenges or Readathons: because a lot of these tend to have a theme, I’d feel pressured in reading a certain type of book. I tend to pick a book based on what I want to read next, and I feel a themed reading challenge would eliminate that sense of spontaneity. I also like to keep things varied, which makes me switch genres a lot. Not very compatible to a themed challenge — if I were to read, say, 7 thrillers one after another, I’d be sick and tired of thrillers before I reach the 7th book. Basically, for me, a Readathon or reading challenge would needlessly pressure me into reading books I feel like I have to read, rather than reading what I want to read. In other words, a very fast way for me to get into a reading slump.

And, knowing me, I tend to want to read books ‘not allowed’ for the challenge when I do participate in one.

Moreover, as a rule, I don’t own enough books to match a certain theme. A library subscription costs money in my country, and buying everything is even more expensive. As it is, I unfortunately don’t have a magic tree growing money in my back yard. And honestly, I don’t need even more excuses to buy more books. My space isn’t endless, either. But I’ll leave the discussion about space management for another day!

And finally, I don’t have the time to read a lot of books in a short amount of time. My job, other hobbies, and my social life tend to interfere from time to time.

But, like I said, nothing wrong with Readathons or challenges, or the people who love participating in them. I like the idea and some of those themes certainly do seem fun. Plus, the excitement of others is fun to see in the community! I just prefer not to do them myself.

What about you? How do you feel about reading challenges?

4 thoughts on “On Readathons and Reading Challenges

  1. Oh I’m so glad my post inspired you to write your own, thank you so much for the mention! 🙂 I feel the same way about reading challenges, not doing them so far except for the Goodreads one, but I love seeing other people do them and getting tons of recommendations 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • No problem! I enjoyed reading your post; I think it’s good to talk about this. The recommendations through others doing these challenges is one I have overlooked, but it’s definitely one worth mentioning! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Samantha! I have tagged you on my last post in a tag/meme for helping spread the word on new blogs. If you want, you can check my last post and answer the tag 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

