My most anticipated reads for 2017!

Happy new year everyone!

This is usually the time for making resolutions, and though I’ve set some goals for my personal life, I don’t actually have any reading goals other than trying to complete my GoodReads reading challenge (which I’ve set to 40 books). I usually read whatever I’m in the mood for with hardly any planning. Nonetheless, there are some books I’m definitely looking forward to reading. So here’s a list of my most anticipated reads of 2017 — and who knows, maybe I will have read all of these by the end of the year?

before_the_feast
Before the Feast by Saša Stanišić
I do like the occasional magical realism, and I’ve seen this on a list of recommendations of the genre. I don’t know anything about the book other than its genre and what little I’ve read on the blurb, so I’ll be going in completely blind.

Genre: magical realism

leckie_ancillarysword_tp
Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie

I doubt this is a surprise for anyone who has read my review about Ancillary Justice, but I definitely can’t wait until I have a chance to read its sequel.

Genre: science fiction (space opera)

9200000055255300
Het smelt by Lize Spit
I was a bit hesitant to include a Dutch novel (by a Flemish author), but I find the blurb so intriguing that I couldn’t help myself. Apparently, an English translation is coming up anyway. The title translates to ‘It’s melting’ and it’s a revenge story with a woman as its main character. I’m quite curious!

Genre: contemporary

51uamiukb5l-_sx325_bo1204203200_
Blood of Elves by Andrzej Sapkowski
I’ve already read the short story collections The Last Wish and Sword of Destiny, so I would like to continue reading this series. Especially because I have the video game The Witcher III: Wild Hunt lying around as well!

Genre: fantasy

18947303
Traitor’s Blade by Sabastien de Castell
I won a signed copy of this book (along with its sequel, A Knight’s Shadow) through a give-away by the American Book Center. The setting seems entirely up my alley, so I definitely want to check this out in the near future.

Genre: fantasy

517m7paupfl-_sx303_bo1204203200_
Pet Sematary by Stephen King
I have quite the list of books by Stephen King to read, but this one is on my shortlist. I actually started reading this last year, but after one of my dogs died I couldn’t bear reading about dead animals for  a while. I hope to give this one a try this year — and if not, I want to at least read one book by Stephen King!

Genre: horror

taliesin-4
Taliesin by Stephen R. Lawhead
I’ve seen this series on various lists involving Arthurian books, so I really want to check it out. It apparently involves a historical approach (correct me if I’m wrong?), which I find an interesting angle to take when it comes to Arthurian fiction. Plus, it’d be nice to read something Arthuriana again without a thesis looming over my head.

Genre: fantasy, historical

17167166
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
Throne of Glass was perhaps one of the books I was surprised to have enjoyed so much — especially because young adult can be a hit-and-miss for me. I really liked the setting and the main character, so I want to see how this develops throughout the series.

Genre: young adult, fantasy

18839
Orlando by Virginia Woolf
I keep meaning to read this for years, so I intend to finally get around to it this year! I didn’t quite enjoy Mrs. Dalloway  by Woolf, but the subject material of this book seems a lot more interesting. Woolf was a remarkable person and I’ve read a bit of her essays, so I definitely want to give Orlando a chance.

Genre: contemporary

51b5yg6y1rl-_sx330_bo1204203200_
The Last Kingdom by Bernard Cornwell
I love The Warlord Chronicles by this author, so it makes sense that I would check out his other book series that include a Saxon. I have about five books of this series sitting on my shelf, so I want to start reading it in the near future.

Genre: historical

penguin-count-monte-cristo
The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
Another book that has been on my TBR list for ages, but haven’t gotten around to yet. My best friend has read this book and keeps recommending it to me, so I should definitely check it out some time soon. It want to see the anime Gankutsuo as well, which is based on this classic, but I want to have read the book first. Finally, it’s a revenge story and I tend to enjoy those.

Genre: classics

What about you? Any particular plans for this year? Books you definitely want to read? Feel free to share them in the comments.

2 thoughts on “My most anticipated reads for 2017!

Leave a Reply

